Book Your Vacation to the Dominican Republic!

Rooms :


The Politics in Dominican Republic

Dominican Republic has a representative democracy, which reflects the classic model of the division of powers into three: executive, legislature and judiciary.

The executive branch is represented by the President of the Republic who is elected by direct vote, appoints the Cabinet, running from the law of the Legislature and is the Commander in Chief of the Armed Forces and National Police.

The legislature is the National Congress, which consists of two legislative chambers: the Senate, which is the body of territorial representation, has 32 seats, one for each of the thirty-one provinces and one by the District National and the Chamber of Deputies with 152 seats.

The congressional and municipal elections are held every four years, with the New Constitution the Congress will be elected during may 2010 for six years to join the Presidential Elections in 2012.

Under the constitutional reforms established after the 1994 elections, the 16-member Supreme Court are appointed by a council nominated by the three main political parties. The Supreme Court has jurisdiction over actions against the President of the Republic, members of his cabinet and legislators. The Supreme Court is responsible for resolving appeals from lower courts.

At the head of each of the 31 provinces being, representing the Government, a provincial governor appointed by the President. Trustees elected by popular vote administer the National District and the municipalities and municipal districts throughout the country.

The Dominican Republic has a multiparty political system. The major political parties are the Partido Revolucionario Dominicano (PRD), the Dominican Liberation Party (PLD), and the Social Christian Reformist Party (PRSC).

Dominican Political parties List:

* Dominican Liberation Party (PLD)
* Dominican Revolutionary Party (PRD)
* Social Christian Reformist Party (PRSC)
* National Progressive Force (FNP)
* Social Democratic Revolutionary Party (PRSD)
* Institutional Social Democratic Bloc (BIS)
* Alliance for Democracy (PAD)
* Anti-Imperialist Patriotic Union (UPA)
* Quisqueyano Democratic Party (PQD)
* Democratic Union (UD)
* Dominican Communist Party (PCD)
* Dominican Workers' Party (PTD)
* Independent Revolutionary Party (PRI)
* Liberal Party of the Dominican Republic (PLRD)
* National Party Veterans and Civils (PNVC)
* Popular Christian Party (PPC)
* Force of the Revolution (FR)

Note: In 1983 several leftist parties, including the PCD, joined to form the Dominican Leftist Front (FID), however, still retain individual party structures.

0 comentarios:

Post a Comment